A Year Later…

This morning I was drinking my morning coffee on the patio of my recently purchased home, and a sudden realization came to my mind…

  1. I need to be a better party planner and gift giver.
  2. I haven’t blogged in over a YEAR!

When I started this blog, I originally did it for a class. The class was called “Adolescent Literature,” and I really enjoyed the class. We read a lot of books and discussed a lot of different things in the class that helped me in my future career. That was when I was a junior in college, studying to become an elementary teacher.

Almost 3 years later, I am happy to come to you with an update on my life and my career! I graduated from Chadron State College with an Elementary Education degree .I was hired 3 months after I got that degree to teach 3rd grade at a small school in Nebraska. I am currently at that same school, and I am on summer break after finishing my first year of teaching! It is true what they say, college gives you as much as they can to prepare you for your first year in your field, but you truly learn the most when you are doing it and involved instead of reading about it.

During that time of teaching, a few wonderful things in my life happened…

  • I coached Drama, and I learned a lot about coaching High School.
  • I met 8 wonderful students who each had unique personalities.
  • I got the chance to learn from some great teachers.
  • I learned my weaknesses as a professional and how to conquer them.
  • I learned my strengths as a professional.
  • I got engaged to the love of my life! We will be tying the knot next August.

So much has happened in the last couple of years, and without trying to write my own book, I wanted to share where I have been and what the future of my blog will be. I will continue to read and post about books, but I will also be steering towards more teaching related posts now that I have my own classroom. I have wonderful stories and different strategies that I wish to share. My goal is to connect with other teachers and book lovers like myself in hopes for a better education,  and to better the lives of the kids I teach.

Hopefully the next post won’t be a year from now!

-Ms. L

 

Leave a Reply

